Cité de l’automobile

Cité de
l’automobile

A place of history

The Cité de l’Automobile puts on display over 400 dream cars that together make up one of the most beautiful collections in the world. The museum is housed in a former woollen mill bought by the Schlumpf brothers in 1957 and transformed a few years later into a showcase for their collection.

1906 The Schlumpfs in Mulhouse

1906

The Schlumpfs in Mulhouse

Carl and Jeanne Schlumpf settled in Mulhouse just after the births of their two sons, Hans and Fritz. 

1906 The Schlumpfs in Mulhouse

Carl Schlumpf worked as an accountant in the Becker horticultural company. He did, in fact, marry one of Becker’s daughters, Jeanne. Hans born in 1904 and Fritz in 1906. Carl Schlumpf died in August 1918. Hans was sent to a private school in Switzerland and graduated in business studies. Fritz attended the secondary school in Mulhouse. After working in various textile companies, he started his own wool brokering business in 1928.

1935 The brothers went into business together

1935

The brothers went into business together

Hans and Fritz became partners and established their first companies together.

1935 The brothers went into business together

The two brothers founded the SAIL (the Société Anonyme pour l'Industrie Lainière, a public limited company in the wool industry), bought their first shares in the Malmerspach spinning mill, and took control of various companies in 1940, and subsequently in Erstein and Roubaix in 1956.

In 1957, the Schlumpf brothers bought the HKD textile factory, a former wool spinning mill in Mulhouse. As a leading businessman, Fritz made almost all the decisions. His elder brother followed his lead and their empire continued to grow.

1961 The first cars

1961

The first cars

Between 1961 and 1963, Fritz Schlumpf secretly bought large numbers of vintage cars. 

1961 The first cars

To make these purchases, he established contact with ‘buyers’ in France, Switzerland, England, Italy, Germany, and the United States. The rich industrialist relentlessly acquired classic European cars, while shunning American models.

Fritz Schlumpf only allowed a few privileged people to access the factory warehouses where the cars were stored and kept his collection secret. In May 1965, the first article was published in Alsace that revealed the sheer extent of this hidden collection. Fritz Schlumpf began to seriously consider a project to establish a museum.

1966 The ‘Schlumpf Museum’ project

1966

The ‘Schlumpf Museum’ project

Work began to showcase the collection. This major project took several years to implement. But the museum conceived by Fritz Schlumpf was never opened.

1966 The ‘Schlumpf Museum’ project

All the partition walls in the large warehouse building were removed. The new open exhibition area of 17,000 m² was subdivided into 23 ‘areas’, each comprising ten to twenty cars and surrounded by three kilometres of wide, tiled walkways.

At the same time, the pace of the restoration work on the cars increased. This required the participation of seven assistant mechanics, two upholsterers, two bodywork specialists, an assistant bodywork specialist, and five painters. To acquire and exhibit the cars in his collection, Fritz Schlumpf spent around 12 million francs in ten years. 

1976 The Schlumpf affair

1976

The Schlumpf affair

In 1976, the museum was ready to welcome its first visitors, and the reception halls and velvet-clad restaurant were ready for the inauguration. The admission tickets had been printed, and glasses of champagne prepared to celebrate the opening of the museum. But it was not to be …

1976 The Schlumpf affair

Unfortunately, at that time, due to the textile crisis, the Schlumpf companies were faced with cash flow problems. At first, they refused to sack their workers, but the two brothers were eventually forced to admit defeat: they filed for bankruptcy, the factory workers were laid off, and the site officially sealed.

In the early hours of 7 March 1977, a handful of men entered the HKD factory in Mulhouse. To their amazement, they discovered 436 gleaming vintage cars, a veritable treasure secretly amassed by the brothers Hans and Fritz Schlumpf since the 1960s with money generated by their factories. 

The warehouses were occupied by the unions. The ‘Musée Schlumpf’ was renamed and became the ‘Musée des Travailleurs’ (Workers’ Museum). Placed under the management of the CFDT trade union, admission to the Museum was free. ‘I earned 1,400 francs a month, and this is where the rest went’, declared one of the many signs placed on the grille of a racing car.

Henceforth, the Schlumpf brothers were confined to their villa. After three days, on the instigation of the French authorities, the Schlumpf brothers were accompanied to the Swiss border, where they officially settled.  In 1979, the Colmar Appeal Court upheld the liquidation of the property of the two brothers, including the collection of cars restored with the factory’s capital. 

1981 Musée national de l’Automobile

1981

Musée national de l’Automobile

The Association du Musée National de l'Automobile—which comprises the City of Mulhouse, the Haut-Rhin département, the Alsace Region, the Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Mulhouse, the Automobile Club de France, the Société Panhard, and the Comité du Salon de l'Automobile— purchased the collection for 44 million francs, an acquisition authorised by the Court of Cassation the previous year.

1981 Musée national de l’Automobile

On 10 July 1982, the Musée National de l’Automobile opened its doors to the general public. Substantive work began to improve the display of the collection and attract visitors.

In 1989, following the rulings of the Paris Court of Appeal, the Musée National de l'Automobile was obliged to add ‘Collection Schlumpf’ to its name and on any documents mentioning part of the collection.

1999 Culturespaces becomes a delegate

1999

Culturespaces becomes a delegate

The Association of the Musée National de l'Automobile entrusted Culturespaces with the management of the museum. 

1999 Culturespaces becomes a delegate

On 25 March 2000, after extensive work, Culturespaces opened the doors of the world’s largest automobile museum—which had been partly renovated and modernised—to the general public. The choices relating to the Museum’s renovation were based on three objectives: the preservation of its identity, showcasing the collection, and the conception of a modern and dynamic project. 

In July 2006, Culturespaces inaugurated new venues and the Musée National de l'Automobile became the Cité de l'Automobile. In the autumn of that year, visitors discovered a series of suspended cars. This curious display of cars and animals was complemented by alternating sound effects that included natural, atmospheric, and mechanical sounds.

The main aim of this project was to shift from a showcase collection to a museum that opened out onto the exterior, where visitors could explore the entirety of the former plant that extended over four hectares; the idea was to highlight the former factory’s exceptional architectural heritage. 

In July 2011, wishing to break away from the static image of an exhibited collection, Culturespaces created a racing track called the ‘Autodrome’. The cars were being driven once again, to the delight of the visitors and collectors. The racing track could accommodate 4,500 people in its stands. It extended the Cité de l’Automobile from four to eight hectares and added an open-air theatre to the museum complex.

1999 Culturespaces becomes a delegate

Cité de l’automobile

Cité de
l’automobile

Un lieu d’Histoire

La Cité de l’Automobile présente plus de 450 voitures de rêve constituant l’une des plus belles collections du monde. Le Musée est installé dans une ancienne filature de laine achetée par les Frères Schlumpf en 1957 et transformée quelques années plus tard en écrin pour leur collection.

1906 Les Schlumpf à Mulhouse

1906

Les Schlumpf à Mulhouse

Carl et Jeanne Schlumpf s’installent à Mulhouse juste après la naissance de leurs deux fils, Hans et Fritz. 

1906 Les Schlumpf à Mulhouse

Carl Schlumpf travaille comme comptable de la société d'horticulture Becker. Il épouse Jeanne, l’une des filles Becker. Hans né en 1904 et Fritz en 1906. Carl Schlumpf meurt en août 1918. Hans est envoyé dans une école privée en Suisse où il obtient un diplôme supérieur de commerce. Quant à Fritz, il fréquente le lycée public de Mulhouse. Embauché dans des entreprises textiles, il s'installe à son compte en 1928 dans le courtage de laine.

1935 Les frères en affaires

1935

Les frères en affaires

Hans et Fritz s’associent et montent ensemble leurs premières sociétés. 

1935 Les frères en affaires

Les deux frères fondent la SAIL (Société Anonyme pour l'Industrie Lainière), achètent leurs premières actions de la filature de Malmerspach et prennent le contrôle de diverses sociétés en 1940 puis en 1956 à Erstein ainsi qu’à Roubaix.

En 1957, les frères Schlumpf rachètent l'usine textile HKD, ancienne filature de laine à Mulhouse. Leader dans les affaires, Fritz est à l’origine de presque toutes les décisions. Son frère aîné le suit en tout et leur empire ne cesse de croitre.

1961 Les débuts de la collection

1961

Les débuts de la collection

Entre 1961 et 1963, Fritz Schlumpf achète, en secret et en grand nombre, des voitures anciennes. 

1961 Les débuts de la collection

Pour effectuer ces achats, il noue une série de contacts avec des « rabatteurs » en France, en Suisse, en Angleterre, en Italie, en Allemagne et aux Etats-Unis. Le riche industriel achète sans répit les voitures européennes de la haute époque en refusant les modèles américains.

Fritz Schlumpf n’autorise l’accès aux entrepôts de l’usine renfermant les voitures qu’à quelques privilégiés et garde sa collection secrète. En mai 1965, le journal L'Alsace fait paraitre le premier article révélant l'ampleur de cette collection dissimulée. Un projet de musée commence à germer dans la tête de Fritz Schlumpf.

1966 Le musée Schlumpf

1966

Le musée Schlumpf

Les travaux de mise en valeur de la collection débutent. Ce chantier de taille s'échelonne sur plusieurs années. Mais ce musée imaginé par Fritz Schlumpf ne sera jamais ouvert.

1966 Le musée Schlumpf

Toutes les cloisons du grand bâtiment à sheds de son usine mulhousienne sont abattues. Cette salle d'exposition de 17 000 m² d'un seul tenant est subdivisée en 23 « quartiers » comprenant 10 à 20 voitures et bordée de trois kilomètres d'allées carrelées de grande largeur. 

Parallèlement, les interventions de remise en état des voitures s'accélèrent. Elles nécessitent sept aides mécaniciens, deux selliers, deux ferblantiers, un aide ferblantier et cinq peintres. Pour acheter et exposer sa collection, Fritz Schlumpf a ainsi dépensé environ 12 millions de francs en 10 ans.

1976 L’affaire Schlumpf

1976

L’affaire Schlumpf

En 1976, le musée est prêt à accueillir les visiteurs, les salles de réception et de restaurant aux velours rutilants attendent l’inauguration. Les billets d’entrée sont imprimés, les coupes de champagne sont prévues pour trinquer à la gloire du musée. Cependant…

1976 L’affaire Schlumpf

Malheureusement à cette époque, du fait de la crise du textile, les entreprises Schlumpf commencent à avoir des difficultés de trésorerie. Refusant tout d'abord de procéder à des licenciements, les deux frères doivent bientôt se rendre à l’évidence : ils déposent le bilan, les ouvriers de l'usine sont licenciés et les scellés sont posés.

Le 7 mars 1977 au petit matin, une poignée d'hommes pénètrent à l'intérieur de l'Usine HKD à Mulhouse. Ils découvrent, ébahis, 436 voitures de collection rutilantes, véritable trésor amassé par les frères Hans et Fritz Schlumpf depuis les années 1960 dans la plus grand secret avec l'argent des usines. 

Les ouvriers décident d’occuper les lieux. Le "Musée Schlumpf" est débaptisé et devient "Musée des Travailleurs". Placé sous la surveillance du syndicat CFDT, l'entrée du Musée est gratuite. « Je gagnais 1400 francs par mois, voilà où est passé le reste » explique l’un des nombreux écriteaux placés sur la calandre d'une voiture de course.

De leur côté, les frères Schlumpf sont séquestrés dans leur villa. Au bout de trois jours, à l’instigation des autorités françaises, les frères Schlumpf sont conduits à la frontière suisse où ils élisent officiellement domicile. En 1979, la Cour d'appel de Colmar confirme la liquidation des biens personnels des deux frères y compris la collection de voitures restaurées sur les fonds des usines. 

1981 Musée national de l’Automobile

1981

Musée national de l’Automobile

L'Association du Musée national de l'Automobile – qui regroupe la ville de Mulhouse, le Département du Haut-Rhin, la Région Alsace, la Chambre de Commerce et d'Industrie de Mulhouse, l'Automobile Club de France, la Société Panhard et le Comité du salon de l'Automobile – rachète la collection pour 44 millions de francs, rachat autorisé par la Cour de cassation l’année précédente.

1981 Musée national de l’Automobile

Le 10 juillet 1982, le Musée national de l’Automobile ouvre au public. Un travail de fond commence pour faire évoluer la mise en scène de la collection et susciter l’intérêt auprès des visiteurs.

En 1989, suite à des arrêts de la Cour d'appel de Paris, le Musée national de l'Automobile est contraint d'ajouter « Collection Schlumpf » à son nom et sur tous les documents mentionnant un élément de la collection.

1999 Culturespaces délégataire du musée

1999

Culturespaces, délégataire du musée

L'Association du Musée national de l'Automobile confie l'exploitation du Musée à Culturespaces. 

1999 Culturespaces délégataire du musée

Le 25 mars 2000, après de nombreux travaux, Culturespaces ouvre au public le plus grand musée automobile du monde en partie rénové et modernisé. Trois objectifs ont guidé les choix pour la rénovation du Musée : préserver son identité, mettre en valeur la collection et concevoir un projet moderne et vivant.

En juillet 2006, Culturespaces inaugure de nouveaux et le Musée national de l'Automobile devient la Cité de l'Automobile. Dès la nouvelle entrée, le visiteur découvre un envol de voitures suspendues. Cette mise en scène improbable autour d’autos et d’animaux se prolonge par un dispositif sonore changeant où se mêlent des sons naturels, atmosphériques et mécaniques.

L'objectif majeur de ce projet est de passer d'une collection dans un écrin à un musée ouvert sur l'extérieur où les visiteurs peuvent découvrir la totalité de l'ancienne filature s'étendant sur plus de 4 hectares, le but étant de mettre en valeur l'exceptionnel patrimoine architectural de l'ancienne usine. 

En juillet 2011, dans une volonté de rompre avec l’image statique d’une collection exposée, Culturespaces créé une piste d’évolution baptisée Autodrome. Les voitures reprennent mouvement pour le plaisir des visiteurs et des collectionneurs. Elle permet à la Cité de l’Automobile de passer de 4 à 8 hectares et introduit, dans ce complexe muséal, un théâtre de plein air.

1999 Culturespaces délégataire du musée